What are we doing to our children?

My morning began with me finding an article called “The silent tragedy affecting today’s children by Victoria Prooday” and it is really worth the read.

CarmenTimm

She started her post off by saying the following:

“Here is my new blog post. I encourage every parent who cares about the future of his/her children to read it. I know that many would choose not to hear what I say in the article, but your children need you to hear this message. Even if you disagree with my perspective, please, just follow the recommendations at the end of the article. Once you see the positive changes in your child’s life, you will understand why I say what I say!— Victoria Prooday”

The entire article screamed true to what I see every day and how it is affecting today’s children, and how I choose my children is closer to the right path even if most of today’s society does not agree with it. In the article she points at that “…WE, parents, are the answer to many of our kids’ struggles!”, something I have said so many times in the past. Now I do not claim to be the perfect parent or even to be a good parent on most days, but I refuse to be the reason my child struggles. I refuse to be the cause the bad/not acceptable/helpless behavior I see in children every day.

I love the fact that she says children are being deprived of the fundamentals of childhood. You can read her article for all of the things we are doing right and wrong, but the one fundamental she feels our kids are missing out on, is the one I am kind of stuck on….

Responsibilities

She says that let your child help with at least one chore a day, it teaches them responsibilities and independence. I often are made to feel like a bad parent by other parents when they hear my children do chores. That my children are responsible for their own school work, sport and activities. I am there to help where is needed, but they need to make sure that they have packed in their school bag what they need for the next day. I summarize Amandalynn’s school work due to her anxiety and the fact that she struggles, but I do not study for her or make that part any easier. Lorelai is 7 and she does her homework on her own, ask questions if she struggles or do not understand and then when she is done I check her work. But again I do not give her the answers and empower her by letting her figure it out for herself or at least make sure she really tried before I help her.

That my children have daily chores that need to be done, here is the list:

Amandalynn age 10 – clean room, make bed, clean up lounge (pick up whatever is lying around or out of place), clean kitchen counter, feed dogs, help fold laundry and pack away own laundry.

Lorelai age 7 – clean room, make bed, clean up bathroom (pick up whatever is lying around or out of place), pack away yesterday’s dried dishes, fill dogs water bowl, help fold laundry and pack away own laundry.

Too many parents my kids chores seem excessive and they will say things like kids should be allowed to be kids and not used as domestics, I prefer doing it myself then I know it is right. Or the best one… they are too young to do these kind of things especially Lorelai.

I did these chores every day when I was a child, I stayed home alone after school and I had to make sure that my chores are done before my mother walks in the door at 17:00 and that my brothers have done theirs. I believe that I am better off for this responsibility, I am more independent.

Do your kids do chores? If not, why not? What do you think about the article?

2 thoughts on “What are we doing to our children?

  1. I love this. I had this conversation with my husband earlier this week. I don’t believe in giving too many chores but need to have a chore that is their responsibility like cleaning their room. Azaria also needs to clean the bathroom every second day and Jaymee empty the bin.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

