Local is Lekker – Interview with Tara Louw Designs {Giveaway}

A while ago I started contacting local companies to feature on my blog. We make use of party planners, bakers, etc. but generally only know the big names. I figured I will share so smaller but still amazing companies/brands for you to give a try.

10636312_795261167176230_1982666726431644930_n

Today I am featuring not only a brilliant designer, but also a women who I am lucky enough to call my best friend, godmother to my children, my #soulmate in a friendship sense. Anything pretty and creative (design wise) that I has ever posted online I can promise you was designed by Tara. She did my entire wedding with very little input from me while being my maid of honour and keeping me calm on the day.

Now that I have distracted you with my wonderful wedding photo’s, let’s get back to Tara.

What is your name? Tara Louw

Tell me about yourself?  I’m a graphic designer based in Cape Town. A few years ago I got thrown into the deep end when a client asked me to coordinate her wedding. I jumped at the opportunity and have been hooked on events ever since. I enjoy seeing a project take shape from start to finish. I could ramble on about how passionate and creative I am, but my work speaks for itself.

Tell me more about your business. Is this a full time job/hobby/extra job? At the moment this is an extra job. My aim is to be a full time wedding & events designer by the end of this year. This business is a natural extension of myself. I’ve started a couple of years ago doing freelance work here and there. Slowly but surely my dream is becoming a reality.

What got you into graphic designer/event planner? Being creative is just in my genes I guess. After school I completed my International Diploma at AAA School of Advertising in Cape Town. My first job was at a mobile advertising company. After that I got an opportunity at a conference and events company as Graphic Designer. There I developed the love for all things events related. I loved the rush and last minute preps. I was lucky enough to embark on a successful freelance journey which has lead me to start my own Wedding and Events company.

How do you find clients? How do you go about marketing your business? What has been your most successful form of marketing? Most of my marketing is either via Facebook or word of mouth from previous happy clients. I run a page on Facebook where I regularly post updates on projects I’m busy with. I would say this has been my most successful way of marketing. People want to see the work you do and want to know that you are proud of it by showing off on Facebook.

What do you love about working as a graphic designer/event planner? I enjoy seeing clients who are happy with their designs or successful events. I enjoy the creative process that starts off as nothing and seeing things take shape into something beautiful.

What has been your most satisfying moment in business? Coordinating my first wedding and realising this is exactly what I want to be doing every day.

What is something you dislike about being a graphic designer/event planner? Unreliable suppliers are the worst. No matter how meticulous your planning process is, there’s nothing worse than relying on a supplier and they don’t deliver the standard you are expecting.

How has being a graphic designer/event planner affected your family life? There’s a lot of planning and compromise that goes into working two jobs. My job requires me to work weekends and after hours. Luckily I have a great support structure filled with people who are always there to help out.

You can contact Tara via Email, her blogTwitter, Facebook, LinkedIn and Pinterest.   Or you can just click on the link in my sidebar and it will take you directly to her…

comp-graphic

Tara has graciously offered to giveaway of A5 printed wedding invitations***. Simply comment below with you wedding date or the wedding date of a friend who you are entering the competition for and you’ll be entered into the draw.

For extra entries do any of the following (mention in your comment which of the options below you completed, this will be checked):

Please note that this giveaway is open to South African residents only. This giveaway closes on Monday 19 September at 9am, after which the winner will be announced on the The Stilettomum Facebook page, and then emailed.

***Terms and conditions: Only 30 A5 invitations. All extra printed invitations charged at extra costs. Design fee included for maximum of 3 hours of design work. Extra hours charged additionally. Single sided full colour print only. Double sided printing charged extra. Envelopes not included. Prize needs to be used within 6 months.

Untitled

Did you enjoy this post? Do you want more of this? Make sure to subscribe on your right and please share with your friends. You can also follow me on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram for shorter versions of what happens in our lives daily, or you can follow to Education series.

4 thoughts on “Local is Lekker – Interview with Tara Louw Designs {Giveaway}

Leave a Reply

