It’s not losing its moving forward…

Friends.

I am talking about friends.

Over the last couple of years I have had this conversation with many of my mom friends and we always end up saying the same thing about our childless friends – note not all of them. Then today I came across this post by Working Mom SA and it hit home. I realised that besides talking to other mom friends about, I have never mentioned it on my blog.

I use to have a long list of very good friends but over the last almost 10 years of being a parent that list has come down to 2 hands if that much.

Just a quick pause… I HAVE BEEN A PARENT FOR ALMOST A DECADE! IN A MONTH I NEED TO GET SOME KIND OF AWARD.

Now do yourself a favor an go read the post linked below and then come back and read the rest of my post.

* * * * * * * * *

no-kids

How much of that post hit home? Didn’t it kind of feel like she was writing this for you?

In the past I use to get angry when I received invitations that said “NO KIDS“. It’s not like you did not know about my kids and secondly if it is not your wedding or similar kind of function, as a parent I should have the option to make that decision myself.

Now I just don’t care.

If you send me an invitation to come over for dinner or a braai and your message says no kids allowed. I will be busy that day. I have lost friends because of this and I wondered if I am being silly for getting upset about this, but image every time you get invited somewhere you are asked not to bring your husband?

So friends, if my children aren’t welcome at your home, I am not welcome at your home and you can just assume that we are no longer friends.

It’s not me, it is really you.

How do you feel when this happens to you? Does it make you angry or do you not care?

 

Untitled

Did you enjoy this post? Do you want more of this? Make sure to subscribe on you right and share with your friends. You can also follow me on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram for shorter versions of what happens in our lives daily, or you can follow to Education series

{Image credit}

Leave a Reply

