How are you planning on staying sane this mother’s day?

Sunday is Mother’s Day and I know for a fact I will be getting a macaroni necklace from school. Don’t get me wrong, I love them but sometimes you just want your husband to spend some hard earned cash on something expensive.

Am I alone in feeling this way? Does it make me sound like a horrible person?

Lucky for me I got sent a little magical present…

20160416_013302

Picking this up from reception made me go all giddy… Pandora outdid themselves yet again. I am in love with my Family Forever charm. Now I am not really someone who wears anything on my wrists, I prefer earrings and necklaces. Looking at the charm in that box I decided that I will add mine to a string of pearls and wear around my neck. But if I had to make my own charm bracelet for my husband to purchase. This is what I will choose:

IMG_20160503_075540.jpg

Check out this video from Pandora with a special thanks to moms on this mothers day. I tear up each time I watch it.

There is no way that the macaroni necklace or box of choccies beats this, also my car broke and that expenses means I cannot expect anything expensive for mother’s day. Instead of showing you all the expensive things I want but know that I am not getting them, I will share my list of how I stay sane with you.

Music

When things get to much, I turn up the volume and rock it out. Sometimes when the husband is at work and the kids are at school. I dance it out in my underwear – true Grey’s Anatomy style (that is before they grew up)

Controlling Just One Thing

When I’m really struggling, it’s usually because I feel like everything is totally out of my control, my anxiety kicks in and I start acting like a crazy person. I start a spring cleaning project. Even if it is just 1 shelf in my kitchen. Feeling like I am controlling something makes me feel more in control.

Coffee

I can never give up coffee, my family knows that I need coffee to love them, not to kill them, to make me a decent person.

#MyPerson

Talking to my best friend, my person. She always makes me feel better and less alone. All mothers need other mothers and women to make them feel normal.

A Bath and a Locked Door

Currently my house does not have a bath, so I now settle with sitting on the shower floor with the water running over my head. It is also the place I use when I need a good cry. But even a sanity break works on the shower floor.

Ecards

I love all ecards. They make me happy, sad and they just lift my spirit.

A Trip to the Grocery Store Alone

I realize this is sad, but there is nothing better than shopping alone. No kids no husband. just me wondering through the mall not buying anything not doing anything just walking ALONE on MY OWN.

How do you stay sane as a mother?  What do you do that makes you happy?

“A mother is a person who seeing there are only four pieces of pie for five people, promptly announces she never did care for pie”. ~Tenneva Jordan

Untitled

Did you enjoy this post? Do you want more of this? Make sure to subscribe on you right and share with your friends. You can also follow me on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram for shorter versions of what happens in our lives daily, or you can follow the Education series

2 thoughts on “How are you planning on staying sane this mother’s day?

  1. You know I was going to wade in and start an argument, didn’t you 😉 We’ve had this conversation at home several times in the past. The US invented mothers day, and fathers day to sell cards. It’s all a load of crap. Besides – since when were you your other half’s mother ? I know – I know – he can buy things for the kids to give to you, but he could buy stuff anyway – why do you need an excuse ? 🙂 Go order takeaway food right now, and chocolate, and wine. You know it makes sense.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You see – your arguments makes sense to a normal person, but I am not normal. I carried his children for 9 months – 1 day a year I get presents and do nothing else. He gets that on father’s day. I have the kids 364 days a year 1 day off with gifts is not too much to ask.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

