We have been having fun as a family

The school holidays are finally over…

I am happy that my children are going back to school. I love them, but I love them môre when they come home tired, educated, entertained, stimulated and with stories of their day. Because we all know during school holidays even if your children go to daycare they are still not “tired” by the time that they come home and you have to do all the entertaining, which does not end until they pass out.

The other thing about this school holiday that pisses me off is the fact that it did not fit into recess as it usually does. I work for Advocates and every term the court has recess and usually it lines up with the school holidays which means I can take leave. Not this time… Recess started on 1 April and ends on 18 April and school start again 5 April. See how that sort of fucks with my child care plans?!

I didn’t post mush over the school holidays as I was busy working and entertaining children as mentioned above and brain dead not sleeping tired could not string a sentence together.

It is now 3:10am and I cant sleep so I am blogging.

I have an image folder on my phone called “blog posts” where I save all my photos and ideas, but half the time I forget about it. Here is randomly what we got up to over the holidays and what it happening in Stiletto Land this month.

image

My best friend celebrates her birthday on 4 April, check out the post for how much she means to me. She is having a 30th bday bash (which I may or may not have bullied her into) its going to be the best party ever. I am making mini desserts and I am working on special surprise for her, she knows she is getting a surprise (because torture if fun and she can handle it). I am also still working on my black and gold outfit, seeing that I do not own anything gold.

image

I decided that she needed more than just that 1 party so I got a group of girls together, we booked Galileo tickets to watch Moulin Rouge, planned an epic picnic basket and told her to keep the date open as I have a surprise night planned. Mother nature decided that she hates me and Galileo canceled due to possible rain and I instantly started having panic attacks. The one saving grace was that she didn’t know what was planned so we could change it without disappointing her.

Carla offered to host a Dinner at her house. Liesel sorts out snacks, she will make Dinner, I’ll do dessert and get her there. The night turned out great. Tara got blindfolded and I drove around for about 20min to confuse her as she has a built in GPS system. By 12 we were heading home realising that we do not do this often enough.

image

image

image

I got an invitation to the #KidsEmporium #BloggersBreakfast and I am super excited and counting the sleeps.

image

Hopefully I won’t be too starstruck on the day with Elana Afrika in attendance, that I actually remember to take note and photos to tell all of you about the amazing time that I had.

image

Amandalynn was on a 4 day Voortrekker camp so I got to spend loads of time with Lorelai. I worked on Human Rights day so she and her dad came with me and spent the morning visiting the museums because they were free for the day and feeding squirrels in Gardens. While I was working Hannes won tickets to the Mclaren Circus, so while he studied the afternoon, Lorelai and I went to enjoy the show.

This child takes actual riding lessons and she still made me pay R30 to go on a pony ride at the circus.

It was good, I didn’t think it was amazing, but Lorelai loved every second. To her it was the most amazing thing she had ever seen and is still talking about her “Afro Circus”.

image

image

Hannes also started with his studies this year and let me tell you after being out of school for 10+ years, getting back into it is a bitch and a half. So far we are working as a team on his first assignment while we figure the foreign language of education out.

image

The girls took part of the school holiday hockey program for 3 days. Even with Lorelai being in Grade R she also got to take part.

image

image

 

For Amandalynn the clinic was about fitness and learning new techniques and perfecting the ones she has learnt. Her season starts again on 6 April and she is ready for it. Hold thumbs that she gets picked for the A team again this year, but if not it will be ok as we believe it is more important for her to partake than be the best.

image

image

image

Lorelai was very nervous the morning of the first day as she knew nothing about hockey. We told her that she is there to learn and that they will help and teach her. She was the only Grade R child in attendance and she ruled the show. She loved every minute and all the extra attention she got due the being the “baby”.

For more clips like these, remember to subscriber to my Youtube Channel. I will likely never be a Vlogger, but I do love saving my kids memories online. 

The girls also got certificates for taking part in the clinic and Lorelai is showing hers off to everyone she comes across. She is now counting the minutes to get to Grade 1 so that she can play hockey.

image

image

image

I am so proud of my girls. Seeing them taking part in school activities and seeing them having fun, just shows me that I am not doing to badly at this thing called parenting.

There is so much more to tell you, but I figured giving you a 1000 words and so many images are pretty much enough for one day.

What did you get up to over the school holidays? Feel free to post links to blog post in the comments or just tell me. 

Untitled

Did you enjoy this post? Do you want more of this? Make sure to subscribe on you right and share with your friends. You can also follow me on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram for shorter versions of what happens in our lives daily, or you can follow to Education series

Leave a Reply

