She can Read…

I know that I have been missing in action for a while but as the year is coming to an end my days are filling up with activities and I have been doing loads of reflecting on what I want out of life next year.

Lorelai is turning 6 in January and heading to the big school for Grade R. We took her out of her nursery school at the end of November because they do not offer Grade R next year (that is a long story).

I decided that she can go stay with a friend of mine for the first week of December until the primary school closes for the year.

Now Lorelai has been begging to learn to read since the age of 3 and in the last week she has learned so much. The biggest thing of all is she has now learnt to read not just by memorising the way the word looks but by actually sounding out each word.

I am shocked and impressed all at the same time.

You can watch her reading here

Leave a Reply

