Rubbing shoulders with the stars at African Pride for Unilever’s Bright Future Campaign

On Wednesday morning I had the privilege to attend an event at African Pride (at 15 on Orange). Before I tell you why I attend let me start by telling you how I felt.

Firstly I checked the invite 300 times to make sure that a) I was actually the person invited, b) I had the date, time and location correct, c) feared that I will not know a soul and feel like I don’t belong.

I had the correct information but as I arrived there was only 3 other people and I did not know them. We all sat in silence playing on our phones not speaking. Then people started to arrive and they were hugging and chatting and still I did not know anyone.

This is technically my own fault as I have not attended an event in almost a year. I have been busy ok. Feeling like an outsider here and missing Reluctant mom as she would have made this awkward moment less awkward.
JSJo-Ann Strauss was the MC for the event and as always she looked stunning. By the time that she walked into the sitting room it had filled up a bit but I was still alone and on my phone. Jo-Ann went from group to group introducing herself and she got a bit of info from everyone. I noticed that 99% of the people attending where all media not mommy bloggers so I felt even more out of place. Here is when I add in the Jo-Anne made such a fuss about the fact that I’m a mommy blogger and how special that it. [image source] Jo-Ann can be followed in the following ways: Website / Twitter / Instagram / Her Blog / Facebook / Glambition

We heading into the meeting room with the most amazing starter waiting for us(I did not take a photo). After the talks we got our mains and I could not finish it.

Your probably wondering what was the point of the event besides my anxiety being all over the place?!

“Reforestation is the natural or intentional restocking of existing forests and woodlandsthat have been depleted, usually throughdeforestation. Reforestation can be used to improve the quality of human life by soaking up pollution and dust from the air, rebuild natural habitats and ecosystems, mitigateglobal warming since forests facilitatebiosequestration of atmospheric carbon dioxide, and harvest for resources, particularly timber.” 

“One and one-half acres of rainforest are lost every second with tragic consequences for both developing and industrial countries…”

Unilever has teamed up with Wildlands in a great initiative to not work towards reforestation but also to help those is the poorer part of our country to help them grow the trees for reforestation and to then batter those trees with Unilever for much needed food, supplies, water tanks and even bicycles. With our rainforest being destroyed and climate changes happening Wildlands felt they needed to do something and do something big to change the world not just now but for the future generations.

I was not certain how deforestation and climate change fitted together until I did some research:

“Trees affect our climate, and therefore our weather, in three primary ways: they lower temperatures, reduce energy usage and reduce or remove air pollutants. Each part of the tree contributes to climate control, from leaves to roots.”

I was shocked by the stats that I came across. I never figured this affected me directly because as Queen (one of the speakers at the event) said: “When I look out of my office window all I see are trees, there is now way that this has an effect one me”.

20150911_100423[1]

This is a photo that I took outside my office in Cape Town CBD this morning, do you see all the trees?

It does affect all of us. Working with Unilever and Wildlands on this new platform for climate change not only feels great but it also ensure a better environment for my children and grandchildren (one day) to live in. So far Wildlands and Unilever have reached over 2 billion people with their products and have enabled people through this project to make a #brightfuture for themselves. Watch this short clip to see exactly how this campaign works:

The Unilever #BrightFuture campaign has committed to buying ( 1 million trees from The campaign launched on 28 August 2015 and has by the time of the event reached over 63 000 tweets. It is our responsibility as mommy bloggers (and the media) to spread this message and to get as many people as possible involved with this campaign. The following clip is why I got involved, it had me in tears.

For the month of September (more like forever and a day) I will be working with Unilever SA on their #brightfuture campaign to

CHANGING SOUTH AFRICA ONE TREE AT A TIME

Creating life-giving oxygen, providing shelter and playing a vital part of our ecosystem, trees are undeniably crucial to our existence. Yet, we are losing the forests that are so important to us. It’s time for people of South Africa to come together to help us change this.

How can you help? For every tweet using the hashtags #TweetForATree & #BrightFutureSA Unilever will plant a tree on your behalf. It has never been easier to make a change than this.

3 thoughts on “Rubbing shoulders with the stars at African Pride for Unilever’s Bright Future Campaign

Leave a Reply

