To all my married friends

More than words

A beautiful poem from the book Sheet Music by Dr. Kevin Leman. I think all of us who are married can relate to this poem on some level. It just encouraged me to work harder to break the  “the wall” that has started forming in my marriage. To watch my words and make sure I love my husband in his love language (the way he gives and receives love).

The Wall

Their wedding picture mocked them from the table,

These two whose minds no longer touched each other.

They lived with such a heavy barricade between them

That neither battering ram of words

Nor artilleries of touch could break it down

Somewhere, between the oldest child’s first tooth

And the youngest daughter’s graduation,

They lost each other.

Throughout the years each slowly unraveled

That tangled ball of string called self,

And as they tugged at stubborn knots,

Each hid his…

View original post 196 more words

One thought on “To all my married friends

Leave a Reply

