How much time and effort does planning a party really need?

I tend to go a lottlr crazy when it comes to my kids birthday parties. When I say a little crazy I mean completely OCD crazy. A couple of years ago Reluctant Mom renamed me “Mamma Party Zilla” in other words I’m like to godzilla of kids parties, I think…

Anyway….

Lorelai is turning 5 in January, and because we cancelled her princess party this year I promised her we will go huge when she turns 5. As a result she has been telling me that she wants a horse party with real horses. The party planning has started 4 months to go huge and cheap!

Am I crazy?

I look at my friends who do the 2 weeks before send out invites, get a cake, party packs and you have a party. Its like one of those instant cake mixes. Dont get me wrong, I love their parties and they make it look so easy and it makes me think that i plan amd think to much.

So how many hours of planning and prepping do you think is “enough” for a kids party?

Flashback:

2011: The day have arrived! It’s finally here! & Thought of the day

* Don’t forget to check my Press Releases Page, maybe you find a product or company which interests you.

11 thoughts on “How much time and effort does planning a party really need?

  1. Hmmm. Tough question. I do put a fair amount of planning into parties, but the planning is mostly around the party packs/cake/food and maybe a jumping castle. I see parties in Johannesburg that have a LOT more stuff, like specially decorated tables, face painters, etc…ain’t nobody got money for that! I usually try and theme the table with the food on, the cake and the party packs, hire a jumping castle and then I’m done!

    Like

  2. I think it depends on the kind of party, where you’re having it (if you need to book months in advance), and how big the party is. I tend to start looking for ideas on Pinterest as soon as the theme has been chosen, and send out the invitations a month in advance, but the actual “work” is done the week before.

    Like

  3. I’m the worst person to ask. I have the theme in my head for at least 4 months in advance to work it all out mentally. We send out invites at least a month in advance and then the two or three weeks leading up to the party I am crazy planning and making and decorating. But I love it. So that’s OK with me 🙂

    Like

  4. Oh plan months in advance because I love doing it and making as much of the little things myself. We send invites a month in advance. However, we do not do a full party every year.

    Like

  5. I think if you have a theme a few months before you can start looking for ideas (eg I did trucks and got lots of ideas from nearby shops and Pinterest). But you don’t have to go mad. At the end of the day it is for them not you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

