Screen Rules

A while ago I came across a post by one of the blog I follow and it had a section about screen rules. With technology running our lives it is impossible to keep it away from our children.

*I have searched everywhere for the post but couldn’t find it, if it was you let me know and I’ll link it up.

So here are the rules for my house:
* No tv or movies from Monday to Thursday as it is school. Over vacation times this is obviously different and even in the term their father will sometimes allow them to watch a movie.
* Only channels and movies that I have seen and approved. On DSTV they can what a couple of channels, Amandalynn knows which channels and she also knows if I catch her watching something else DSTV gets taken away. We have so many kids DVD’s that they have an unlimited supply of movies.
* Their computer is only allowed to be on for games over weekends. This Hannes and I luckily agree on so they each get 30min on a saturday and 30min on a sunday. We don’t leave them to just play, we sit and help and watch.
* Amandalynn had a cellphone, but it was the family spare. She is turning 8 and does not need a phone. Our rule is she will get one as soon as she needs one.
* Our cellphones and my tablet are only used by the kids to play games on when we are visiting other people who don’t have kids or when we are driving around.

My rules are simple to me, you might not agree and that is ok. It works in our house.

Do you have screen rules? What are they and are you able to stick with them? Do a post and link it up.

PSS: IF YOU LOVE ICE-CREAM POP OVER TO MY PAGE

Thanks for reading.
Love Charlotte

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry, so the typo’s arent my fault šŸ™‚

PSS: IF YOU LOVE ICE-CREAM POP OVER TO MY PAGE

Thanks for reading.
Love Charlotte

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry, so the typo’s arent my fault šŸ™‚

One thought on “Screen Rules

  1. I think your rules are great! At our house Zoe can choose 30 mins of either TV or iPad on week nights. It has to be switched off by 7pm, at which point she must be in bed and reading. Weekends we are normally out all day so need for screen rules. Occasionally we will have a pajama day, where we will spend the day watching dvd’s or TV together as a family. We are VERY strict with age restrictions and appropriate programs. Rubbish cartoons are out!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

