Super Powers

I’m today’s guest blogger!

I’m Melany, been blogging since …. Sjoe … I think 2004. Long time. It started out when I had problems in my marriage and needed a place to vent. It’s pretty much turned into my personal journal that I’m sharing with the not-so-personal world out there!

Charlotte asked me to write a post about my parenting style. Why I parent the way I do.

This is not easy, since I parent my children differently. Don’t get me wrong. I do not love one more than the other. Quintus is my favourite. Jason is my favourite. Zander is my favourite. My favourite Quintus in the whole world. My favourite Jason and favourite Zander in the whole wide world.

I do believe that every child has his own love language and on the other hand a discipline language. I cannot use the same discipline on my children, since they are so very different. I do expect the same things from them though. There is no substitute on good behaviour and I don’t tolerate attitude. You can be 5 or 11. You will be treated with the same respect and I expect the same respect from you.

I parent my children with a lot of love. I’ve been told that I’m very strict. When I sit down and think about it, I probably am very strict. I give my children equal amount of love and time too. So I don’t think strict is a bad thing. It must just be a part of parenting. Not the way you parent. My children know that I love them. That I have their back ALL THE TIME. They are my #1 priority and they know that.

I have 3 boys. They keep my busy. The stress me up, they let me laugh. They make me proud. The drive me insane. I do my best to ‘get’ them. To listen to them even when they don’t speak. I want to understand them. I want us to be close. For them to trust me with everything.

I’m lucky that my parents (especially my mom) helps out a lot with the kids. They are with their Ouma in the afternoon. I work from my parent’s home (I’m an Accountant), so they are in and out of the office in the afternoon. I’m not limited by working hours. I do whatever I need for the kids, when they need me.

I love being a Mom. Some days are tough. Juggling my own business and having the kids in the office can be a bit much some days. It’s difficult cause I’m not just concentrating on work. Not just concentrating on them. We manage though 🙂

Parenting is an honour.

A gift.

I treasure it.

Melany and her boys!

Melany thank you so much for doing this post. You are really a great mother and a real SuperMOM for your sons.

Go visit Melany @ her blog Super Mom … or not

Leave a Reply

