Lorelai’s Milestones

I like checking to see if my children’s milestones are where they are suppose to be. I’m not a fanatic about it, but I like to be in the loop. Every couple of months this bug will bit me and I will go and check, I will come across something’s that they are suppose to be doing and obviously they are not. I will vow that I will start practicing it with them, but by the time I get home it is long forgotten until the next couple of months down the line.

Lorelai turned 1 recently and I checked her milestones today (http://www.kidsgrowth.com/resources/articledetail.cfm?id=318 – awesome site that gives you all the info) I’m not going to mark each one and say if she can do it or not. Today I will concentrate on the negative only…

  • Despite your child’s desire to become independent, you will find the 1- year-old often clinging to a parent more than before. In addition, stranger anxiety may cause some parent’s not to be able to leave their child with grandparents or a baby sitter. It is important for parents to get out from time to time without their little one. You get a breather, and your son or daughter learns that sometimes you do go away, but you always come back. – This started recently; blame it mostly on the split between myself and her father. But it improves daily.

One Year Developmental Checklist (I’m not doing the checklist, go do yours…)

Development

  • Drinks from a cup – not bottles. – I’ve been a lazy mother and haven’t really felt up to the job of clean after her, because I know this will be a big mess. I will admit that she is mostly on one of those rubber teeth sippy cups. Does it count?
  • Feeds himself or herself – Again I have not tried this. Hell I’m a bad parent.
  • Will begin to cooperate a little in getting dressed by holding still. – One positive thing, she loves it now and wants to dress herself.

For age 1 I need to work on 4 things not to bad. Let’s go get positive… and check 15 month milestones, note I’m only taking the ones that apply to her. (http://www.kidsgrowth.com/resources/articledetail.cfm?id=323 )

Parenting and Behavioral

· Your child will begin to experience some frustration. Your youngster will get upset when he or she cannot do something, or when he or she can not do what he or she wants. A child at this age will try crying and screaming to get his or her way, and such protests may become full-blown temper tantrums and breath-holding spells.

· Although hitting and biting are common behaviors at this age, the behavior should never be permitted.

  • Don’t worry if your child becomes curious about body parts. This is normal at this age. It is best to use the correct terms for genitals.

· Toddlers may want to imitate what you are doing. Sweeping, dusting, or washing play dishes can be fun for children at this age.

Development

  • The vocabulary for a 15-month-old is usually three to six words that parents can understand and an entire language that they cannot!
  • Will be able to point to one or more body parts.
  • Understands simple commands (“bring me the ball”).
  • Walking has improved and will begin to crawl up stairs. – My daughter has been walking since 8 months, she has never crawled any stairs, and she walks up and down them. She falls daily, but still refuses to crawl.
  • Recognizes himself or herself in a mirror.
  • Indicates what they want by pulling, pointing, grunting and other methods of communicating

Untitled

Did you enjoy this post? Do you want more of this? Make sure to subscribe on you right and share with your friends. You can also follow me on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram for shorter versions of what happens in our lives daily, or you can follow to Education series

2 thoughts on “Lorelai’s Milestones

  1. I don’t think you’re doing bad at all. I just checked the 15 month list for Nicola and there are quite a few things we need to work on.

    Can I say that I dread weaning her off the bottle and onto a cup? She can handle a cup, but she always falls asleep with a bottle.

    Like

  2. Louisa I lazy when it comes to things like this. Tried allowing her to feed herself last night and it was such a mess that i just gave up and fed her.

    Like

Leave a Reply

